Mumbai: The win for Shiv Sena was expected as the party supporters has already celebrating the victory outside the BMC office in Mumbai. The Shiv Sena emerged victorious win in Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation or BMC mayor elections conducted today in the afternoon.

After the BJP withdrew from the mayoral race Shiv Sena’s Vishwanath Mahadeshwar was the strongest contender for the post. He has been elected as the next mayor of Municipal Corporation via a show of hands, with the BJP extending their support to the Sena.  Mahadeshwar was contesting against Congress’s Vitthal Lokhare in the election. with the win, Mahadeshwar will be the 78th mayor of Mumbai and the 22nd candidate from the Shiv Sena party. The BMC has 227 corporators in Mumbai.


The election was conducted by the current mayor Snehal Ambedkar. The corporators from the several party were present in the in the hall. BMC commissioner Ajoy Mehta was also present at the corporation hall.

The BMC office was well decorated by the Shiv Sena workers and celebrated victory outside the office after win of BMC election.